{How to} Make your own dry shampoo

Dry shampoo is your new best friend. Want to find out why? Read on…

What is it?

Put simply dry shampoo is a powder that you apply to the roots of your hair to soak up any excess oil. The powder can then be brushed out, taking the oils away with it, leaving hair not just looking cleaner but feeling fresher, with more body and letting you go longer between washes. Sounds good right? There’s more…

This magical wonder dust isn’t just a quick fix for when you haven’t got the time or energy for a shower in the morning, or any other time that washing your hair just isn’t practical! We all know that over washing with shampoo can strip your hair of natural oils, which in turn can mean that our scalp over compensates and makes even more oils to try to catch up. The result? We end up washing our hair more often, stripping yet more natural goodness from our hair and so the cycle continues. I have long, totally straight hair which I used to wash every single day, the roots would get greasy quickly but washing every day made the tips uber dry. Using dry shampoo has meant that I can now go three days between washes and my hair is definitely happier and more naturally shiny for it!

Of course you could go and buy a bottle of dry shampoo from the shops, and that stuff that comes in a aerosol can is great for when you want to style your hair BUT do you really want to be spraying all those chemicals onto your hair and into the atmosphere when there is such a cheap alternative that’s so simple to make?

Brush and bowl

So what’s in it?

Cornflour. Tutorial over, see you next week.

No wait come back!

It’s true that just plain ole cornflour would do the trick. But we aren’t plain ole people you and I are we? You only have to look online to see that there are as many different recipes for dry shampoo as there are people with different hair types. Like I say, my locks can get very dry at the tips so I steer clear of using ingredients like baking soda or clay in my mix but they might be just what you need. Start with the bare essentials, see how it suits you and then you can get creative.

So here are my two favourite dry shampoo recipes –

Scented cornflour recipe.

  • 1/4 cup cornflour
  • 1 tbsp lavender buds or 3-5 drops of essential oil

Dry shampoo for dark hair.

  • 3tbsp cornflour
  • 1tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

You can tweak this ratio depending on how dark your hair is, just keep adding cocoa powder until you have the right shade to blend beautifully with those luscious brunette locks.

Dry shampoo for brunettes

It really is as simple as that.

I added lavender to my most recent batch of dry shampoo but you could add any skin safe scent you like. Rose petals work really well if you like that kind of thing, or you could use an essential oil that smells great and has anti-bacterial properties like thyme, nutmeg or cinnamon.

Stir it all together, put it in a shaker, or if you are keeping it in the bathroom then it’s a good idea to store it in an airtight jar, and the newest part of your grooming routine is ready.

How to apply it?

Lift the your hair in sections and sprinkle the powder onto the roots of your hair. (Less is more, and definitely don’t sprinkle the powder on top of your hair.) Work the powder well into your hair with your fingers and then let it sit for at least 2 mins so that it has a chance to work. Brush the dry shampoo out of your hair with a soft bristle brush and you are done.

I have tried sprinkling the mixture on with my fingers, shaking it into my roots from a shaker and brushing the dry shampoo on with a make-up brush. They all work!  The shaker lets you get a good amount into your roots for the first application. The make-up brush technique is perfect for touching up any spots that need some extra attention.

Brush ends

But Laura, why have you got two recipes?

It’s all down to the cocoa powder, because who doesn’t want their hair to smell like chocolate right? Well, actually…me! At first I hated it.  The first formula I tried was much heavier on the cocoa powder and the dark chocolately smell made me feel like my hair was more dirty. By mixing the cocoa powder 50/50 with the cornflour the smell is much less over powering and now I’m more used to it, it is great for dabbing on to more visible spots.

But that’s not really cleared to two recipe question up has it?! I use the scented cornflour shampoo over night. That’s why I chose lavender. I sprinkle in plenty of the dry shampoo before I get into bed, put my hair up and in the morning any whiteness left in my hair is much easier to brush away, leaving me looking much less like I am sporting a powdered wig.

Any hints and tips?

  • Don’t wait until your hair is overly greasy before applying your dry shampoo. Try and use it to stop the oils building up too much in the first place.
  • Don’t moisturise your hands before you do you hair in the morning! Wash and completely dry your hands so you don’t add extra unwanted oils to your hair.
  • Once you have styled your hair leave it alone! The more you touch it the more oils you are potentially adding.
  • One final anti-oil tactic – make sure your comb is clean too!

Let me know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

